Reflections…

MeIt’s amazing how time flies. I was just having a conversation with one of my nephews and it was weird that I forgot that he was a nephew. Now I don’t mean I forgot who he was, I mean I essentially was speaking to him like he was a grown man…because he is one. Sometimes I forget that my oldest two nephews are grown men now. One of them has a son that looks just like him, (Complete with that big double missile head…that’s an inside joke) and I keep reminding myself that I used to change HIS diapers.

Every once in a while I look back at my younger self and think….damn I was in good shape then, WHAT THE HELL HAPPENED!?! Sorry, I lost my train of thought. I look back at younger me and think… yeah right, buy Google stock, like that will make any money….damn I was an idiot. Sorry again. I look back and think, was I a good influence on them? Am I now?
If not, how can I be a better one? I ask this because I know from personal experience that a good influence is important even for adults. We may think we know it all, but no, we don’t. We must always be willing to listen and learn.

You would be surprised who can influence you. Did you know that one of my biggest influences was Bruce Lee? Yup. I’m still trying to figure out how to be a small Asian man… okay, this is getting weird now. Anyway, I look at myself now and see that I need to be better, not just for me, but for them, and my other young relatives. It’s not just the parents that need to take responsibility for the young ones, It’s everyone close to them. If I was given the ability to talk to young me, I would tell him to relax, to do his best, to enjoy every moment. I’d tell him, it’s all going to be alright. I’d also tell him to not let him Bally’s membership expire so I don’t have to workout everyday to get back in shape! That damned six pack must be maintained you young knuckle head!

Alright, I’ve got to hit the weights.

Leave a Reply

